Gokai – The Five Reiki Principles

The five Reiki principles are a fundamental part of Reiki practice. They were created by the founder of Reiki Sensei Mikao Usui to help improve our lives. All Jikiden Reiki practitioners are taught to chant the Gokai as part of daily routine once in the morning and once in the evening. It is also chanted during training courses before “Reiju” is performed. The Gokai is also for anyone who wish to bring happiness and health in their life.

Five Reiki Principles (Gokai): How to Say In Japanese

When spoken in Japanese the Gokai have a rhythm like a mantra, and as a traditional Reiki school we teach them in Japanese. The Gokai is an essential part of Reiki practice for both clients and Reiki practitioners. This will help you to learn how to say it them in their original form. The Reiki Principles as written by Mikao Usui are as follows:

Kyo dakewa – (Just for today)
Ikaru na (Do not be angry)
Shinpai suna (Do not worry)
Kansha shite (Be grateful)
Gyo o hagame – (Do your duties)
Hito ni shinsetsu ni –  (Be kind to others)

How does the Gokai / Five Reiki Principles work?

In Japan, we traditionally have believe that the mystical powers dwell in words. This concept is called ” Kototama”. “Koto (言)” means “word” and “tama (靈)” means “soul, spirit”. The words we say has significant power. So day by day, we seed those words of Gokai into our life and it can influence our environment, body, mind, and soul. By chanting aloud the energy of the words manifests in the world. This idea comes from Shintoism, which had a significant influence on traditional Japanese Reiki, being the endemic spirituality of Japan before Buddhism arrived.

Learning the Gokai (Five Reiki Principles) in Japanese

Here is a transcript of the video above:

“Hi! The Gokai means the five principles in English. It was specially created by the founder of Reiki, Mikao Usui Sensei to support our life, to be happier and healthier. I’m going to say the original Japanese version of the Gokai 3 time to help your practice.

>>Repeat next section 3 times

Kyo Dakewa
Ikaru na
Shinpai suna
Kansha shite
Gyo o Hageme
Hito ni Shinsetsu ni”